Joni Mitchell- A case of you

 سعات المزيكا بتقول كل حاجة

 

Just before our love got lost you said
I am as constant as a northern star
And I said, constant in the darkness
Wheres that at?
If you want me Ill be in the bar

On the back of a cartoon coaster
In the blue tv screen light
I drew a map of canada
Oh canada
And your face sketched on it twice

Oh you are in my blood like holy wine
Oh and you taste so bitter but you taste so sweet
Oh I could drink a case of you
I could drink a case of you darling
And I would still be on my feet
Oh Id still be on my feet

Oh I am a lonely painter
I live in a box of paints
Im frightened by the devil
And Im drawn to those ones that aint afraid
I remember that time that you told me, you said
Love is touching souls
Surely you touched mine
Cause part of you pours out of me
In these lines from time to time

Oh you are in my blood like holy wine
And you taste so bitter but you taste so sweet
Oh I could drink a case of you
I could drink a case of you darling
Still Id be on my feet
And still be on my feet

I met a woman
She had a mouth like yours
She knew your life
She knew your devils and your deeds
And she said
Color go to him, stay with him if you can
Oh but be prepared to bleed
Oh but you are in my blood youre my holy wine
Oh and you taste so bitter, bitter and so sweet
Oh I could drink a case of you darling
Still Id be on my feet
Id still be on my feet

5 responses to “Joni Mitchell- A case of you

  1. قطر الندي اسم متميز لمدونة أكثر تميز
    وائل الغزاوي بعمل تحقيق صحفي عن المدونون في مصر ياريت لو تحبي تكوني من ضمن المدونون اللي هنتكلم معاهم وعن مدوناتهم
    للاتصال
    0102430165 يمكن ارسال رساله بها رقمك واسمك واقوم ان بالاتصال
    أو عن طريق المسينجر
    waelelgazawey@hotmail.com
    وشكرا جدا وارجو الاهتمام

  2. OOOOh Atralnada,
    You reminded me of myself and the good old days of Cairo, when I used to go to the Opera and the intellctual gatherings almost once a week.

    Does anyone still have the time to enjoy arts despite the huge amount of daily suffering?

    I don’t know wether you agree with me or not, but I think most of us live now only as a body without a soul. Take me as an example, I became a workaholic since I migrated to the west. No time for anything, you can say I have no time even for me.

    I can’t even remember the last time I read a nice book or listened to a fine piece of classic music.

    Anyways, I’m glad this world still have people like you who are able to dream, and share it with the others.
    Thank you.

  3. Hey, I followed a link on Facebook to your blog. I’m really enjoying reading it, and I wasn’t gonna write anything but I found Joni Mitchell’s song and I was really surprised, not because it was there but because I was listening to it yesterday for the first time in like five years or something and I stopped what I was doing for some reason, there was something that struck me then although it wasn’t the first time I heard it. So it was strange finding it here,,,,,Look for Diana Krall’s version of it, she brings out a lot of what Mitchell is trying to say.

  4. Tarif,
    Mitchell is charming.Thanks for your comment,i’ll check the song🙂

  5. جميل والله
    !!!!
    بما انك مثقفه ثقافه انجليزيه خدي عندك القصيده دي يا قطوره لشاعره اسمها ان سكستون أنا شايف انها بتنطق بلسان حالك يعني تعبير عن مشاعرك المتضاربه كما أراها في مدونتك وقد أكون أو لا أكون علي صواب

    “HER KIND”

    I have gone out, a possessed witch,
    haunting the black air, braver at night;
    dreaming evil, I have done my hitch
    over the plain houses, light by light:
    lonely thing, twelve-fingered, out of mind.
    A woman like that is not a woman, quite.
    I have been her kind.

    I have found the warm caves in the woods,
    filled them with skillets, carvings, shelves,
    closets, silks, innumerable goods;
    fixed the suppers for the worms and the elves:
    whining, rearranging the disaligned.
    A woman like that is misunderstood.
    I have been her kind.

    I have ridden in your cart, driver,
    waved my nude arms at villages going by,
    learning the last bright routes, survivor
    where your flames still bite my thigh
    and my ribs crack where your wheels wind.
    A woman like that is not ashamed to die.
    I have been her kind.

    ها؟ ايه رأيك؟

Leave a Reply

